EUROPEAN SOCIETY FOR PHOTODERMATOLOGY



E-mail: info@espd.eu.com Website: www.espd.eu.com

25th January 2016

Dear Member,

The ESPD committee wish you all the very best for 2016! Now here is our latest news.

Our next annual scientific meeting, the 17th Annual Photodermatology Day, will take place as usual on the first day of the next EADV Congress in Vienna, Austria on Wednesday 28th September 2016, from 13.30 to 17.30 with a very attractive programme, which includes as always a short communications session, in which you are very much encouraged to take part. So, it is already time to think of preparing an abstract. You will receive the programme of this meeting with all the details in our forthcoming Newsletter in March 2016.

The next ESPD course (3rd European Photodermatology Course) is organised by Professor Jean Krutmann in Dusseldorf and is scheduled during the autumn 2016 (date given in the next Newsletter in March 2016).

The **ESPD** with the European Society of Contact Dermatitis is going to start in March **2016** a new multi-centre European photopatchtest study entitled: A Prospective, Open, Multi-Centre Photopatch Test Study of Patients Suspected of Photoallergy to Organic Sunscreens and Topical Nonsteroidal Anti-inflammatory Drugs Used Within Europe.

A new Committee has to be elected during the summer 2016 as The President Gillian Murphy will complete her term of office. There will be a second vacancy on the Committee as The Secretary Marie-Claude Marguery will leave the Committee after the next ESPD scientific meeting in Vienna in September 2016. We encourage members to go forward for election to

President

Dr Gillian Murphy Secretary

Dr Marie-Claude Marguery Treasurer

Dr. Giovanni Leone

Board Members

Prof. James Ferguson (co-opted) Prof. Piergiacomo Calzavara-Pinton

Prof. Marjan Garmyn Dr Sally Ibboston

Prof. Jean Krutmann

Prof. Thomas Schwarz (co-opted)

Honorary Members

Prof. Jan van der Leun Prof. Iren Horkay

Prof. Brian Diffey

Prof. Herbert Hönigsmann

Prof. John Hawk Prof. Rik Roelandts Prof. Pierre Thomas the executive committee...... The voting will be done as before online. Further information will be given in the second ESPD Newsletter, March 2016.

The ESPD is in the planning stages of running **a workshop on photoprotection**, more details of which will be available in our next newsletter. We can already say that the European Dermatological Forum assembly has approved the proposal of joint EDF/ EADV/ ESPD guidelines on topical photoprotection and guidelines on antioxidants. Any member of the ESPD who wants to collaborate could contact Piergiacomo Calzavara- Pinton.

piergiacomo.calzavarapinton@unibs.it.

I would like to remind you the Newsletter of the Annual Scientific Meeting of the ESPD **named FLASH** produced and distributed thanks to the Bioderma laboratory. **Flash number 3** about the last ESPD annual meeting (Copenhagen, 7th October 2015) is in the process.

Our increasing society activities depend very heavily on your annual membership subscriptions which include the 6 issues of the journal, Photodermatology, Photoimmunology and Photomdicine. I therefore strongly encourage you, if you have not already done so, to pay online now at www.espd.eu.com, by following the instructions under the Join/Renew tab, or your membership may regretfully have to be automatically terminated after two years' failure to do so. Please also invite your younger colleagues to join our rapidly growing and progressive society!

The ESPD again wishes all members a very happy and productive year in 2016!

I very much look forward to meeting you in Vienna in September, on the 28th September 2016 at our next annual scientific meeting.

Marie-Claude Marguery Secretary, ESPD

President

Dr Gillian Murphy Secretary

Dr Marie-Claude Marguery Treasurer

Dr. Giovanni Leone

Board Members

Prof. James Ferguson (co-opted)

Prof. Piergiacomo Calzavara-Pinton

Prof. Marjan Garmyn Dr Sally Ibboston

Prof. Jean Krutmann

Prof. Thomas Schwarz (co-opted)

Honorary Members

Prof. Jan van der Leun

Prof. Iren Horkay

Prof. Brian Diffey

Prof. Herbert Hönigsmann

Prof. John Hawk

Prof. Rik Roelandts

Prof. Pierre Thomas